Between Memory and Amnesia: Facing the Past in Poland - World Jewish Congress

Between Memory and Amnesia: Facing the Past in Poland

17 March 2021
17 March 2021 Facebook Twitter Email Print

In collaboration with the Center of Organizations of Holocaust Survivors in Israel, headed by Ambassador Colette Avital, a member of the WJC Executive Committee, the World Jewish Congress is cosponsoring a virtual discussion entitled “Between Memory and Amnesia: Facing the Past in Poland” on 17 March.

The event will discuss the ramifications of a recent trial in a Polish libel case against historians Prof. Barbara Engelking and Prof. Jan Grabowski for their scholarly work in which they cited the testimony of a survivor regarding the actions of a Polish mayor during the Holocaust.

What: Between Memory and Amnesia: Facing the Past in Poland                      

When: Wednesday, 17 March 12:00 EST / 17:00 Warsaw / 18.00 Jerusalem  

Where: Register here                           

Panel discussion 

Prof. Jan Grabowski of the University of Ottawa                                                                 

Prof. Havi Dreifuss of Tel Aviv University                                                                             

Prof. Omer Bartov of Brown University    

Moderated by Dr. Laurence Weinbaum, Director General, WJC Israel/Israel Council on Foreign Relations