Former US Ambassador to the UN H.E. Nikki Haley to be honored with prestigious WJC Theodor Herzl Award

05 Nov 2019 Facebook Created with Sketch. Twitter Created with Sketch. Email Print
Former US Ambassador to the UN H.E. Nikki Haley to be honored with prestigious WJC Theodor Herzl Award

NEW YORK – World Jewish Congress President Ronald S. Lauder will honor former United States Ambassador to the United Nations, H.E. Nikki Haley, on November 6 with the WJC’s annual Theodor Herzl Award, which recognizes outstanding individuals who work to promote Herzl’s ideals for a safer, more tolerant world for the Jewish people. Joel Grey, the legendary actor, singer, director, and photographer, will be presented with the WJC's fourth Teddy Kollek Award for the Advancement of Jewish Culture.

Lauder said: “In my years of service in the diplomatic world and as president of the World Jewish Congress, I have met many heads of state, dignitaries, and ambassadors who have worked diligently in support of Israel and defended it across the international stage. Throughout her tenure, US Ambassador to the UN, H.E. Nikki Haley, proved to be a giant in this realm, exemplifying this country’s unwavering friendship for Israel and commitment to world Jewry, relentlessly calling out the biases and double standards that pervade in the United Nations and its bodies and demanding action. As Ambassador Haley proclaimed in her first days in the position, a new day has dawned indeed at the UN. Thanks to Ambassador Haley, and her allies, the international community is waking up.”

“I am also delighted to present the fourth Teddy Kollek Award to Joel Grey, one of the greatest Jewish entertainers of our time, who has embraced our collective heritage and culture in his work, propelling Yiddish theater and Jewish issues to the forefront of popular discussion. It is a privilege and an honor to welcome Mr. Grey to the family of distinguished laureates of this award,” Lauder said.

Previous recipients of the Theodor Herzl Award include German Chancellor Angela Merkel, the Rothschild family, former US Secretary of State General Colin L. Powell, former US Vice President Joseph R. Biden, former Israeli President Shimon Peres, Elie and Marion Wiesel, former secretaries of state Henry A. Kissinger and George P. Shultz, and, posthumously, Ronald Reagan and Axel Springer. Kirk Douglas was honored with the inaugural Teddy Kollek Award in 2016, followed by film director George Stevens in 2017, and philanthropist Robert Kraft in 2018.

Press information

WHEN: Wednesday, November 6, 2019            
WHERE:  The Pierre, 2 East 61st Street, New York City
PRESS ENTRANCE: Press should arrive at the main entrance and check-in at the press table inside the lobby. Press is required to RSVP in advance.

Sign up to receive our weekly newsletter
The latest from the Jewish world